top of page

2025 PDA One-Act Festival 
Coastal Carolina University, Conway

Titles to be reserved by schools for the 2025 Festival will be listed in this document:

Titles will be updated through January 2025 

Schools must register by the December deadline in order to participate in the FESTIVAL.


$50- School Registration

$50- One-Act Registration for

Professional Plays


School Registration link will be active from

September until early December.

Payment (or Purchase Order) must be received in order to reserve a Play Title.  No duplicate entries are allowed.

DELEGATE REGISTRATION (Participants must be individually registered) will occur after School Registration closes and be due with payment by mid-January.

One-Act Main Stage Performances

One-Act Stage Performances are presented through out the weekend on the Main Stage. 

RATINGS: Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention

Please remember, PDA is a Festival, NOT a competition. Schools are NOT rated against each other. Adjudicators are professionals, college professors, and theatre educators. An attempt is made to provide a variety of judges from year to year. Suggestions are welcome. Festival judges utilize a "rating sheet" created and revised by the PDA Board of Directors for the one-act plays.

Play Guidelines

  • No plays that have been performed at the festival within the past two years may be presented. Ineligible plays are listed to the right.

  • No duplicate entries are allowed. The second school to submit a play title will be asked to make another selection or to withdraw with a refund for the one-act fee only. Schools are highly encouraged to submit the play title with the School Registration Form (available September 25).

  • 40 minute time limit, including set-up and strike.

  • One professional play entry (musical or non-musical) per school. A school may perform an original script but will be adjudicated as if it is a professional published script.

  • Focus should be on acting and directing; keep the technical elements SIMPLE.

  • NOTE: ALL set pieces must fit in a 8ft X 8ft storage space

The 2024 Host Site stage dimensions and instructions:





If there are any updates after September 25th, those will be posted here:

Ineligible Plays for the 2024 Festival

There is a TWO YEAR hold on scripts that can be performed.

Presented at the 2024 Festival

30 Minutes to Charlie by Nick Zagone

Property Rites by Alan Haehnel

Her Senior Year by Cody Moree

Puffs by Matt Cox

Abrasion by Lexi Melton (original script)

The Inexplicable Chaos Factor of Mia Gregory  by Emily Hageman

At the Bottom of Lake Missoula by Ed Monk

This Girl Laughs, This Girl Cries, This Girl Does Nothing

                                                                         by Fingean Kruckymeyer

Fortress by Michael Scanlan

Bystander 9/11 by Meron Langsner

A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare

ALiCE Adapted by Jerome McDonough

The Mysterious Case of the Mysterious Case by Paul Meloon

An Experiment by Brent Holland

Carl the Second by Marc Palmieri

When She Had Wings by Suzan Zeder

Antigone by Sophocles

Every Brilliant Thing by Duncan Macmillan with Jonny Donahoe

In the Dark by Lauren Brown (original)

The Mountain Song by Pig-Pen Theatre Company

21 Chump Street by Lin Manuel Miranda

Tracks by Peter Tarsi

Frühlings Erwachen by Frank Wedekind

Silenced on Barbour Street by William Prenetta

S.P.A.R. by Stephen Gregg

The Zoo Story by Edward Albee

The Play That Goes Wrong by H. Lewis, J. Sayer, & H. Shields

Presented at the 2023 Festival

A Look on the Inside by Ty Ricard

Tribunal by Alan Haehnel

Anatomy of Gray by Jim Leonard Jr.

For Tiger Lilies Out of Season by Andrea Green

Danse Macabre by L. Don Swartz

Why Do We Laugh by Stephen Gregg

The Dancers by Horton Foote

Supressed Desires by Susan Glaspell

Epic Fail by Bradley Hayward

Love at First Thought by Shawn Deal

The Day the internet Died by Ian McWethy and Jason Pizzarello

Speed Date by Janet Allard

My California by Lisa D'Amour

The 146 Point Flame by Matt Thompson

Mac Beth by Erica Schmidt

In the Garden of the Selfish Giant by Sandra Fenichel Asher

The Elephant's Graveyard by By George Brant

The Least Offensive Play in the Whole Darn World by Jonathan Rand

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakeapeare

Silent Sky by Lauren Gunderson

The Velveteen Rabbit by Elise Kauzlaric

The Spot by Steven Dietz

Treasure Island by Todd Espeland

Who Killed Broadway by Meredith T. Taylor

Picnic at Hanging Rock by Joan Lindsay, Laura Annawyn Shamas

Anon(ymous) by Naomi Iizuka

The Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon (one-act) by Don Zolidis

Host Site

To view the critique sheet that the Judges use at the PDA One Act Festival, click  One-Act Rubric:

To nominate a teacher for outstanding work, open this form:

Thespian Chapter Select

​Any Thespian school that would like to perform their one-act at Nationals must indicate the desire to be screened during the PDA One-Act Festival for a slot in  Select Showcase (formerly the Regional Play Marathon) at the International Thespian Festival.  If more than one school wants to advance, a representative from EdTA will make the final selection.

1. Schools must register in January 

2. There is a $20 fee to be considered for Chapter Select Showcase at our festival.

3. The Community Standards & Copyright Form must be submitted at registration in February.


The deadline for Original One Acts to be submitted is Thursday, Dec. 7, 2023.

The top three ORIGINAL scripts will be presented in READER'S THEATRE FORMAT during the festival.   The performances WILL NOT be part of the Main Stage Productions.  Thespys Playwriting entries must be submitted as well. For more information about the Original One-Acts, please click the button below:

To learn more about the Blair Beasley Performance and the Joe Timmons, III Technical Award for Seniors, go to the Senior Awards Page:

bottom of page